protobuf-rpc-pro: goodbye GoogleCode hello Github

I took the time today to move the protobuf-rpc-pro library from GoogleCode to GitHub. The new link: https://github.com/pjklauser/protobuf-rpc-pro.

There has been a lot of ranting and raving in the developer community about this decision to discontinue the GoogleCode service. Personally I can understand that it doesn’t bring any revenue to Google and Google’s own developers would prefer to use GitHub. I had also started using GitHub for new projects and so now consolidating protobuf-rpc-pro into GitHub is convenient for me.

The automatic export tool did all the heavy lifting and converted the repository from SVN to Git. A year ago i  might not have been so happy. I took my time transitioning to Git because it did bring with it a fair learning curve ( even after I’ve learned RCS, CMVC, CVS and SVN in the past ) – but after the pain there was some gain.

Leave a Reply

